Free Shipping Worldwide!
Call us on 00353 26 49170

Irelands Presidency


Irelands Presidency

The recent hype and media coverage of the US Presidential race put me in a mind to do a little research about our own Presidential situation. The incumbent president of Ireland is Michael D. Higgins. Michael D., as he is affectionately known, lives in the official residence of the President of Ireland – Áras an Uachtaráin, in the Phoenix Park, Dublin.

Michael D. Higgins has been President of Ireland since November 11th, 2011. He is the ninth President of Ireland. His term of office will terminate in 2018, as the term of office is seven years in duration. To all intents and purposes, the role of President of Ireland is a ceremonial one.


Ireland’s incumbent President

Name                          Michael D. Higgins

Date of Birth              April 18th, 1941

Spouse                                    Galway girl, Sabina Coyle

Offspring                    1 daughter, 3 sons

Pets                             2 Burnese Mountain dogs

Education                   University College Galway

                                    Indiana University Bloomington

Career                         Lecturer in Department of Political Science and Sociology

                                    Irish politics – Seanad & Dáil Éireann 1973-2011


Aras an Uachtarain.png                                                                                   Aras An Uachtarain (Dublin)


Between 1937 and 1949 there was ambiguity surrounding who was the actual head of the Irish State. That said, Ireland’s first President was elected in 1938. The options for the title role as Head of the Irish State was between the President the people elected and George VI the King of Ireland. This matter was clarified in 1949 at the declaration of Ireland as a republic.

Douglas Hyde              June 25th, 1938 – June 24th, 1945

Seán T. O’Kelly                        June 25th, 1945 – June 24th, 1959

Éamon de Valera        June 25th, 1959 – June 24th, 1973

Erskine Childers          June 25th, 1973 – November 17th, 1974

Cearbhall O’Dalaigh   December 19th, 1974 – October 22nd, 1976

Patrick Hillery             December 3rd, 1976 – December 2nd, 1990

Mary Robinson            December 3rd, 1990 – September 12th, 1997

Mary McAleese          November 11th, 1997 – November 10th, 2011

Michael D. Higgins     November 10th, 2011 – incumbent                 Irish Gift Ideas from Lee Valley



Douglas Hyde was the oldest president to take office at the age of 78.

Eamon de Valera was the oldest to leave the presidential post aged 90.

Mary Robinson was the first female president of Ireland. She was the youngest to take office at the age of 46 and the youngest to leave the post.

Mary McAleese was Mary Robinsons successor and being younger by a mere 53 days when elected, she took the title of youngest person elected to office from her.

Erskine Childers spent the shortest time in the role of President, 511 days, due to his sudden death.

Cearbhall O’Dalaigh resigned after 674 days!

Previous Post Next Post

  • (caitriona hurley)
Comments 0
Leave a comment
Your Name:*
Email Address:*
Message: *

Please note: comments must be approved before they are published.

* Required Fields